Discover the Scottish Borders





Back to: Eyemouth Scotland | Scottish Borders Archaeological-Sites


Coldingham Priory

Things to do in Eyemouth Scottish Borders
Archaeological-Sites in Scotland

Description:
Founded in the early 12th century by monks from the Benedictine Monastery at Durham it was attacked frequently over the centuries with Cromwell leaving it a smoking ruin in 1648 as he moved north into Scotland.
Little remains of the original, but fragments of the south transept and cloister can be seen. Parts of the 13th century choir remain to their full height.
After extensive renovation in 1855, it became the Parish Church.

Ownership:
Church of Scotland

Situation OS ref: NT 904659

How to get there:
By car: On the A1107 north of Eyemouth.
By public transport: Regular of sporadic bus service from Duns to Berwick upon Tweed via Reston, Ayton and Coldingham.

Seasonal opening details:
All year

Opening Hours:
Daylight hours exterior
Church May to September Wednesdays 2pm to 4pm.
July and August Sundays 2pm to 4pm.

Attached attractions:

Additional Information
Linked with St Abbs in 1965 and Eyemouth in 1992.

Web link: (where appropriate):

Places to stay nearby:
Eyemouth
Berwick upon Tweed

Local towns and villages:
Eyemouth
Berwick upon Tweed


Coldingham Priory, Scotland