Discover the Borders





Scottish Borders Duns

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Duns Golf Club

Description: Duns Golf Club Ownership: Private Golf Club Situation – OS ref: NT767536 Hardens Road, Duns TD11 3NR How to get there: By car: Just outside Duns off the B6456 Greenlaw Road, on the Longformacus Road. By public transport: Seasonal opening details (2016): Open all year. Facilities: 18 hole course of 6298 yards - Par 71. Clubhouse with lounge and full caterin...
Type: Golf

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Duns Law

Description: Looking over the present town of Duns, a path leads from Castle Street to the top of this hill, site of the first town. The hill is crowned by the defensive banks of an Iron Age settlement, inside which is a military fieldwork which was constructed in 1638, during the first Bishop's War. A Scottish army under General Leslie occupied the hill, fortified it and reputedly raised th...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Duns Mercat Cross

Description: Duns was granted the status of a Burgh of Barony in 1490 by King James IV in favour of George Hume of Ayton and his son, John. The Market Cross was a symbol of the town's commercial and civil standing. The original cross was pulled down in 1816 and reconstructed in the local Park in 1897 to commemorate the Golden Jubilee of Queen Victoria. When the town Square was refurbished i...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Duns Town Trail

This walk takes you round the town of Duns in the Scottish Borders. The town is steeped in history, and you will find items of interest round every corner. Visit the Duns Town Trail website. Places to Stay in Duns ...
Type: Walking

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Eccles Parish Churchyard

Description: The mediaeval church dedicated to St Andrew was replaced by the present building in 1774. The western boundary walls of the kirkyard include parts of the Convent Church of St Mary the Virgin, a Cistercian nunnery founded about 1150 by Cospatrick, Earl of Dunbar. The nunnery was abandoned in the early 17th century. Ownership: Church of Scotland Situation – OS ref: NT 763413...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Cranshaws Parish Church

Description: The present church dates only from 1899, built on the site of at least two previous buildings. The original church was severely neglected after the Reformation, and a new building was erected in 1739, itself being replaced by the current building which is still in use. Ownership: Church of Scotland Situation – OS ref: NT 692618 How to get there: By car: On the B6355 P...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Crosshall Cross, Eccles

Description: Standing by the roadside, this cross was erected so that travellers would know that they were approaching the boundary of Eccles Nunnery, a Cistercian Nunnery. This priory was in existence from the late 1100's until 1609 when its property and lands were given to Sir George Hume. Ownership: On private land, but can be viewed from the roadside. There is no public access Si...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Greenlaw County Hall

Description: Greenlaw County Hall was built in 1829-31 to house the offices associated with the local government of Berwickshire, Greenlaw being, at that time, the county town of Berwickshire. Designed by John Cunningham, who also designed the Castle Hotel across the Square, the building became largely redundant when the management of Berwickshire was transferred to Duns in 1903. It was converte...
Type: Historical-Buildings

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Edrom Church

Description: Very highly carved Romanesque doorway, dating from the 12th century; formerly the door to the church, Now the entrance to a burial vault in the graveyard. Ownership: In the care of Historic Scotland. Situation: OS ref: NT 827558 How to get there: By car: 3 ½ miles north east of Duns along the A6105 in Edrom village. By public transport: regular public transport from...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Edin's Hall Broch

Description: Dating from 2nd century, one of a very limited number of Iron Age brochs in the lowlands of Scotland. It sits within an earlier fort which is surrounded by ramparts and ditches. Later, the site was occupied in the Romano-British period. Ownership: In the care of Historic Scotland. Situation: OS ref: NT 772603 How to get there: By car: Off the A6112, Duns to Grantsho...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

The Fuchsia Centre

The Fuchsia Centre Description: Small specialist Fuchsia centre with a fuchsia show garden and sales area. Advice freely given. Ownership: Private Situation – OS ref: NT844638 How to get there: By car: On the A1 at Houndwood – next to the church. By public transport: Service buses from Berwick upon Tweed up the A1. Seasonal opening details: Summer Opening 1st March to 3...
Type: Gardens

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Greenknowe Tower

Description: A handsome four storey tower house built to an L-shaped design in 1581. It still retains its iron gate. Formerly the property of the Gordon and Seton families, in later times it came into the ownership of the Pringles of Stichel and the Dalrymple family.. Ownership: In the care of Historic Scotland Situation – OS ref: NT 639428 How to get there: By car: Half a mi...
Type: Historical-Buildings

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Hume Castle

Description: A rare example of a simple courtyard castle of the 13th century, the ruined curtain walls forming the basis of a folly built in 1794 for the last Earl of Marchmont. Ownership: In the care of the Berwickshire Civic Society Situation – OS ref: NT 704413 How to get there: By car: In the village of Hume, which lies between Kelso and Greenlaw, just off the B6364 road. By p...
Type: Historical-Buildings

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Jim Clark Room, Duns

Description: Museum dedicated to the life of Jim Clark, twice world motor racing champion in the 1960’s. Contains a unique collection of memorabilia, trophies and photographs. Ownership: Scottish Borders Council Museums Service Situation – Within the town of Duns, at 44 Newtown Street. How to get there: By car: In Duns. Public car parking nearby. By public transport: Regular bus...
Type: Museums

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Manderston House

Description: Manderston, which is the home of Lord and Lady Palmer, is a fine combination of Georgian style and Edwardian practicality. It is unique in having the world famous silver staircase. The Channel 4 television series ‘The Edwardian Country House’ was filmed here. Ownership: Private Situation – OS ref: NT 814545 How to get there: By car: Situated on the A6105 Duns to Chir...
Type: Historical-Buildings

Swinton Village Green and Market Cross

Description: Although the original village dates back to the 11th century, the present village was laid out as a planned village in the 18th century. The market cross stands on the Village Green where it was erected as a symbol of the commercial status that Swinton once enjoyed as a market town. As the Green is also a football pitch, the Market Cross, standing as it does in the middle of the pit...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Edrom Nurseries

Description: Old established nursery which has a specialist alpine range, and an extensive range of woodland plants including rhododendrons. Ownership: Private Situation – OS ref: NT 905658 How to get there: By car: To Coldingham where the A1107 from Eyemouth crosses the B6438 St Abbs to Reston road. By public transport: Regular bus service from Berwick upon Tweed to St Abbs via C...
Type: Gardens

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Polwarth Parish Church

Description: Although an inscribed stone set into the south wall claims that there has been a church on this site from before 900AD, this church was built in 1703 and replaced the mediaeval church of "Poulworth" which was dedicated to David de Bernham, Bishop of St Andrews in 1242. The crypt is the family vault of the Hume family, and was the famous hiding place of Patrick Hume when h...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Preston Bridge

Description: This fine bridge dates from 1770 and was an important element of the Duns to Grantshouse and Dunbar Turnpike which was opened in the 1840's. Today there are fine views along the River Whiteadder. Ownership: Public Situation – OS ref: NT 787568 How to get there: By car: On the A6105 Duns to Grantshouse road where it crosses the River Whiteadder just south of Prest...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Places to go in Duns, Scottish Borders

Preston Old Parish Church and Graveyard

Description: The first Preston Church was built in the 12th century and belonged to the Bishopric of Dunkeld. Stones from this period with Norman carving were incorporated into the present church which was abandoned in 1718 when the parish was united with Bunkle. The churchyard continued in use and a number of family memorials are amongst the ruins. Ownership: Church of Scotland Situatio...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Scottish Borders Duns