For news and events in Selkirk see Selkirk Events


Scottish Borders Selkirk

Bowhill House & Country Park

Description: This is the Scottish Borders home of the Duke of Buccleuch & Queensberry. K.T. The house itself contains an outstanding art collection, with a wide range of work from the masters, tapestries and superb French furniture, Sevres and Meissen china, and silver. Ownership: Private Situation – OS ref: NT 425278 How to get there: By car: Situated on the A708 Selkirk to Mof...
Type: Historical-Buildings

Places to go in Selkirk, Scottish Borders

Halliwell's House Museum

Description: This museum explores and reveals the life of Selkirk through the ages. See the lives of the working people in majestic displays, follow the Time-line, find out about ‘The Souters’ and see the Flodden Flag, brought home by the only survivor from the town. Ownership: Scottish Borders Council Situation – OS ref: NT 470284 How to get there: By car: Just off Selkirk Marke...
Type: Museums

Lochcarron Tartan Weaving Mill

Lochcarron Visitor Centre Description: Formerly in Galashiels, the Lochcarron Visitor Centre are weavers of the world's largest range of pure wool tartans. Ownership: Private Situation Waverly Mill Dunsdale Road Selkirk – OS ref: NT 475293 How to get there: By car: It can be reached by road by travelling north on the A7 from the direction of Carlisle and the M6, or sout...
Type: Visitor-Attractions

Robert D Clapperton Photographic, Selkirk

Description: An original Daylight Photographic Studio dating from 1867. Has an amazing collection of negatives and photographic artefacts. See what it was like when you made a visit to a photographer’s studio c 1890. See how the finished print was produced from the original glass negative. Demonstrations when time allows. Ownership: Private Situation – OS ref: NT 475293 How to get t...
Type: Museums

Selkirk Market Place and Pant Well

Description: The Market Square was the most important part of the mediaeval town. There the commercial activity was based, with the various separate markets taking place close by. The Pant Well was built in 1898, and still marks the commercial centre of the town. Ownership: Public access Situation – OS ref: NT 469284 How to get there: By car: In the centre of Selkirkwhich lies betwe...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Places to go in Selkirk, Scottish Borders

Sir Walter Scott's Courtroom

Description: The building in Selkirk where Sir Walter Scott sat as a Sheriff of Selkirk from 1804 till 1832. Now a museum which explores his life, his writings and especially his time as a Sheriff. Also features James Hogg, the Ettrick Shepherd, and Mungo Park, the African Explorer. Ownership: Scottish Borders Council Situation – OS ref: NT 471285 How to get there: By car: In t...
Type: Museums

Yair Bridge Picnic Site

Description: Through history this was one of the gathering places for Scottish armies heading south into England. Close to the Border with easy access from the North, East and West with flat land and a plentiful water supply, thousands of men could ‘camp’ in the area. The fame of the Selkirk souters (makers of shoes and boots) meant that the army could also be shod. Ownership: Public access...
Type: Leisure-Activities

Yarrow Stone

Description: An early Christian stone from the 5th Century AD, which commemorates the burial site of two Christian princes – Nudos and Dumnogenos, sons of Liberalis. Ownership: On private ground. Stands within a small enclosure, beside a farm track a short way from the public road. Situation – OS ref: NT 348274 How to get there: By car: Close to the A708, Yarrow Water road from Selki...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Places to go in Selkirk, Scottish Borders

Mungo Park Statue, Selkirk

Description: This monument remembers the life and works of Mungo Park, the doctor and explorer who was born in 1771 at Foulshiels, 4 miles from Selkirk. Spending much of his life in Africa, he explored the River Niger, dying there in 1806. This intricate sculpted column was erected in 1859, outside what were at the time the Municipal Buildings, and had been the surgeon’s house where he did his a...
Type: Visitor-Attractions

Newark Castle, Bowhill

Description: First recorded in 1423 as the “New Werk” to replace the “Oldworck”. Attacked twice during the 16th century, it was eventually destroyed by Cromwell’s forces in 1650. In the 18th century it was stripped and the dressed stone recycled. There is still evidence of the 16th century barmkin or courtyard wall, with its numerous gunloops. Ownership: Tower is NOT open to the public, an...
Type: Archaeological-Sites

Scottish Borders Selkirk